Kickstart Your Day: Apple Carrot Muffins

There is nothing worse than missing breakfast. I can be having a great hair day, be wearing my favorite shoes, and have gotten 8 hours of magical, sacred beauty sleep the night before, but if I miss breakfast, it’s basically a guarantee that I will feel like total crap for at least the first half of my day.

I make it a priority to allow myself enough time each morning to sit down, eat breakfast, drink coffee, and be peaceful first thing every morning. Call me crazy, but I don’t think there is a more perfect time in a day than between 6-7am. It’s quiet outside and people aren’t caught up in the business of the day yet, including me.

DSC_0052

Since I enjoy my sitting and thinking time the most in the morning, I like to have an easy breakfast that doesn’t take much, if any, prep time. That way I can make my coffee and grab something quick to go along with it. As a vegan, you have to get creative with breakfast since most staple breakfasts include eggs, buttermilk pancakes, bacon, sausage, etc.

Muffins are a great option for this type of routine. You can bake a batch on Saturday or Sunday and then have almost enough to last the week for breakfast. Also, in honor of fall being just around the corner (like tomorrow, people!), I felt that muffins were incredibly appropriate for this post. They are a major comfort food for me, and they tend to always have yummy spices like cinnamon and nutmeg in them.

DSC_0025

Eric and I have always been huge muffin fans. One of our favorite breakfast spots in Nashville is Fido. Every time we go for breakfast, we get two muffins to split with our coffee (fun fact: they have several vegan muffin options. Try the Vegan Beet It! Muffin if you ever get a chance. It’ll change your life). Sadly, most muffins aren’t always necessarily the healthiest way to start your day. They are usually pumped with sugar, butter, and oil. However, the recipe I’m using today definitely has all the things you need to kick start your day! You’ve got rolled oats, flax seed, apples, carrots, and pecans. They’re extremely low in fat and high in fiber – a great combination to start your energy for the day!

These Apple-Carrot Muffins are my personal favorite! Don’t be deceived by the name. They are delicious! If you could smell my house right now, you wouldn’t even care about the name. It smells heavenly.

I’m not entirely sure where the original recipe idea came from, but I know the version I’ve included below has been heavily modified by my mom since she started making these a few years ago.

Warning:  this recipe does contain one non-vegan ingredient – an egg. I haven’t gotten super creative with my egg substitutes yet, and I usually only use them in baking.

What you need:

Dry ingredients (combine together in a medium mixing bowl)

1 cup of whole wheat flour

2/3 cup of rolled oats

1 Tbsp of baking powder

½ tsp of baking soda

½ tsp of salt

1 tsp of cinnamon

1/3 cup of brown sugar

1/3 cup of milled flax seeds

DSC_0040

Wet ingredients (combine in separate mixing bowl)

1 egg (or egg substitute of some sort)

½ cup of applesauce

1 tsp of vanilla or vanilla bean paste (plain vanilla is much cheaper)

½ cup of almond or soy milk (plain or unsweetened are both fine)

DSC_0055

In food processor/blender/Cuisinart

½ pecans chopped – add to dry ingredients

2 medium-sized carrots (approximately 1 cup) – shredded

1 large apple (personal favorites – honey crisp, pink lady, jazz) – shredded

DSC_0066

DSC_0068

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Combine dry and wet ingredients (don’t forget to mix in chopped pecans!).

Stir in shredded carrots and apples.

Mix ingredients until blended.

Scoop batter into non-stick muffin cups.

DSC_0083

Bake for 13-14 minutes (until golden brown).

Remove from oven and allow muffins to cool in pan for 5 minutes.

Remove onto wire rack for cooling.

(I like to spread a little peanut butter on these. So yummy!)

DSC_0091

“TASTE and see that the Lord is good!” Psalm 34:8

Enjoy! Happy autumn, everyone.

One thought on “Kickstart Your Day: Apple Carrot Muffins

Leave a Reply

